RESOLUTION NO. 232

REQUIRING EQUALITY OF FUNDING REGARDING THE ALBANY COUNTY LEGISLATIVE GRANTS AWARD PROGRAM

Introduced: 5/14/18 By Mr. Ethier, Ms. Cunningham and Mr. Drake:

WHEREAS, The Albany County Legislature has established a legislative grants program by which individual legislators have the opportunity to reach out to their communities regarding programs which may be eligible for grant awards by the Albany County Legislature, and

WHEREAS, Such interested parties and groups from all the various legislative districts have the opportunity to submit applications detailing the positive impact and benefits they provide and how they plan to allocate any awards to further their presence, and that they have on their communities, and

WHEREAS, Such funding should be available to all members of the legislature for the projects in their districts in equal part in order to ensure that all parts of the county are represented equally, now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, By the Albany County Legislature, that the monies allocated for the Legislative Grants program shall be divided into thirty-nine equal shares, with one share allocated to legislators of each of the thirty-nine legislative districts, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That legislators may agree to combine funding from their equal portions in order to fund programs impacting their own districts or county as a whole as they deem necessary and proper, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the County Legislature is directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County Officials.

Referred to Audit and Finance Committee – 5/14/18 Negative Recommendation Audit and Finance Committee – 4/24/19 Mr. Ethier made a motion to amend the resolution as follows: After the Second RESOLVED clause, ADD:

"RESOLVED, That this resolution shall apply to the 2020 legislative grant program, and to each yearly legislative grant program thereafter, and, be it further" Amendment was adopted by unanimous vote.

A motion was made by Mr. Simpson to call the previous question.

On long roll call vote, the following members voted in favor of the motion: Messrs. Beston, Bullock, Cahill, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Commisso, Ms. Cunningham, Messrs. Dawson, Fein, Higgins, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Ms. Lekakis, MR. Mayo, Mss. McKnight, McLean-Lane, Messrs. Miller, O'Brien, Simpson, Touchette and Ms. Willingham – 21

Those opposed: Messrs. Burgdorf, Domalewicz, Drake, Ethier, Feeney, Frainier, Grimm, Hogan, Mauriello, Mendick, Ms. Plotsky, Messrs. Reinhardt, Smith, Stevens, Tunny and Ward – 16

The Chairman declared the motion was defeated.

Mr. Ward made a motion to amend the resolution as follows:

After the Second RESOLVED clause, ADD:

"RESOLVED, That prior to the announcement of acceptance of applications for the 2020 Legislative grants award program this body shall approve a policy establishing eligibility requirements for said program, and, be it further"

On long roll call vote, the following members voted in favor: Messrs. Beston, Bullock, Burgdorf, Cahill, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Commisso, Ms. Cunningham, Messrs. Dawson, Domalewicz, Drake, Ethier, Feeney, Fein, Frainier, Grimm, Higgins, Hogan, R. Joyce, Ms. Lekakis, Messrs. Mauriello, Mayo, Mss. McKnight, McLean-Lane, Messrs. Mendick, Miller, O'Brien, Ms. Plotsky, Messrs. Reinhardt, Smith, Stevens, Touchette, Tunny and Ward – 34

Those opposed: Messrs. A. Joyce, Simpson and Ms. Willingham – 3 Amendment was adopted.

On roll call vote, the following members voted in favor: Messrs. Beston, Burgdorf, Cahill, Clay, Commisso, Domalewicz, Drake, Ethier, Feeney, Frainier, Grimm, Hogan, Mauriello, Mayo, Mendick, Miller, Smith, Stevens, Touchette, Tunny and Ward – 21

Those opposed: Mr. Bullock, Mss. Chapman, Cunningham, Messrs. Dawson, Fein, Higgins, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Mss. Lekakis, McKnight, McLean-Lane, Mr. O'Brien, Ms. Plotsky, Messrs. Reinhardt, Simpson and Ms. Willingham – 16

Resolution was adopted as amended – 5/13/19