## RESOLUTION NO. 556

## PROVIDING ANNUAL SALARY INCREASES FOR CERTAIN ELECTED OFFICIALS

Introduced: 12/5/19 By Ms. Willingham:

WHEREAS, Annual increases to the salaries of both elected and appointed County Officials during their term of office in accordance with their time in office will serve to maintain the compensation levels of said Officials with the existing economic conditions within the County of Albany, and

WHEREAS, It is equitable to provide annual salary increases for County Officials after each year of their term, and

WHEREAS, This Honorable Body may presently provide for said annual salary increases for County Officials commencing in January 2020 by adopting a schedule providing for same, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, By the Albany County Legislature that the annual salaries of the hereinafter mentioned County Officials commencing in January 2020 shall be at the amount indicated in the 2020 Albany County Budget and be increased by 2% each year of their terms of office thereafter, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the aforementioned provision for annual salary increases for said County Officials is hereby deemed a schedule of salary increments based upon the time in service of the specified County Officials, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the aforesaid provision for annual salary increases is hereby declared applicable to the salaries of those elected officials with terms commencing in January, 2020: County Executive, County Comptroller and County Sheriff, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the County Legislature is directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County Officials.

On long roll call vote the following members voted in favor: Messrs. Beston, Bullock, Cahill, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Commisso, Dawson, Domalewicz, Ethier, Feeney, Fein, Frainier, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Mss. Lockart, McKnight, McLean Lane, Messrs. O'Brien, Peter, Ms. Plotsky, Messrs. Smith, Touchette, Tunny, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 25

Those opposed – Messrs. Burgdorf, Crouse, Drake, Grimm, Hogan, Mauriello, Mayo, Mendick, Reinhardt and Stevens – 10

Resolution was adopted – 12/5/19