RESOLUTION NO. 166

APPOINTING A COUNTY LEGISLATOR TO REPRESENT THE 37TH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

Introduced: 5/10/21

By Messrs. A. Joyce, Feeney, Beston, Bruschi, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Cleary, Commisso, Domalewicz, Efekoro, Ethier, Fein, Mss. Lekakis, McLaughlin, Mclean Lane, Messrs. Miller, O'Brien, Peter, Ms. Plotsky, Messrs. Reidy, Reinhardt, Ricard, Simpson, Ward and Ms. Willingham:

WHEREAS, There exists a vacancy on the Albany County Legislature from the 37th Legislative District due to the resignation of Mr. George Langdon from his position as an Albany County Legislator, and

WHEREAS, Section 205 of the Albany County Charter provides that the vacancy shall be filled by appointment by a majority of the remaining members of the Legislature, now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That Richard Touchette, residing at 32 Church Street, Coeymans, NY 12045, is hereby appointed County Legislator from the 37th Legislative District for a term commencing immediately and ending January 1, 2022, and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Legislature is hereby directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County officials.

Mr. Mauriello proposed the following amendment:

In the First Resolved Clause, Delete "Richard Touchette" and replace with "Zach Collins"

On long roll call vote the following members voted in favor: Messrs. Burgdorf, Drake, Grimm, Ms. Lockart, Messrs. Mauriello, Perlee, Smith, Tunny and Ms. Whalen – 9

Those opposed – Messrs. Beston, Bruschi, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Cleary, Commisso, Domalewicz, Efekoro, Ethier, Feeney, Fein, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Kuhn, Ms. Lekakis, Mr. Mayo, Ms. McLaughlin, Messrs. Miller, O'Brien, Peter, Ms. Plotsky, Messrs. Reidy, Reinhardt, Ricard, Simpson, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 27

The amendment failed.

On long roll call vote the following members voted in favor: Messrs. Beston, Bruschi, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Cleary, Commisso, Domalewicz, Efekoro, Ethier, Feeney, Fein, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Kuhn, Ms. Lekakis, Mr. Mayo, Mss. McLaughlin, Messrs. Miller, O'Brien, Peter, Ms. Plotsky, Messrs. Reidy, Reinhardt, Ricard, Simpson, Smith, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 28

Those opposed – Messrs. Burgdorf, Drake, Grimm, Ms. Lockart, Messrs. Mauriello, Perlee, Tunny and Ms. Whalen – 8
Resolution was adopted – 5/10/21