## LOCAL LAW NO. "N" FOR 2022

## A LOCAL LAW OF THE COUNTY OF ALBANY, NEW YORK, AMENDING THE ALBANY COUNTY CHARTER FOR THE PURPOSE OF ESTABLISHING LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS BASED ON THE 2020 CENSUS

Introduced: 9/12/22 By: A. Joyce

BE IT ENACTED BY THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE OF THE COUNTY OF ALBANY, THAT LOCAL LAW NO. X FOR 2015, IS HEREBY AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

Section 1. Section 206 of Local Law No. X for 2015, is hereby amended to read as follows:

Section 206 Districts. For the purpose of electing County legislators, Albany County shall be divided into thirty-nine districts. One County legislator shall be elected to the: County legislature of Albany County from each of said districts. The thirty-nine districts within the County of Albany are as follows:

(See Appendix "A" and descriptions in Appendix "B" - note Appendix "A" prevails in the event of inconsistencies between the Appendices)

The maps of the enumerated districts referred to above, as well as maps showing the districts into which Albany County is herein divided, shall be filed with the Clerk of the Albany County Legislature and shall remain on file and said maps shall be considered and hereby are made a part of this Charter.

Section 2. This amendment of Local Law No, X for 2015, shall be effective for the election of County legislators for terms commencing January 1, 2023 and thereafter and for all processes incidental thereto.

In the sections "Appendix "B" which describe the thirty-nine Legislative Districts proposed for Albany County, the following shall apply.

The use of the terms County of Albany, County of Careen, County of Rensselaer, County of Saratoga, County of Schenectady, City of Albany, City of Cohoes, City of Watervliet, Village of Altamont, Village of Colonie, Village of Green Island, Village of/Menands,: Village of Ravena, Village of Voorheesville, Town of Berne, Town of Bethlehem, Town of Coeymans, Town of Colonie, Town of Green Island, Town of Guilderland, Town of Knox, Town of New Scotland, Town of Rensselaerville and/or Town of Westerlo shall be construed to mean such as they were legally constituted as of the. date of adoption of this local law.

The use of terms which describe compass directions and traverses along boundaries shall be construed to reflect physical and. geopolitical features as depicted by the United States Bureau of Census.

Excepting conditions described in the following two sentences, references to Legislative boundary segments which follow mapped features such as streets, roads, roadbeds, railroads, rail bed, tracks, bridges, streams, kills, creeks, or geopolitical bounds or boundaries, including the image extensions of such features, shall be construed to mean a line segment drawn along the center line of such feature. The exception to the center line follow shall occur in those incidences where such Legislative boundary is described as following a geopolitical boundary which appears to follow a physical feature (real or extended) but which may be legally described as 'being offset from such center line. In such a circumstance the Legislative District boundary shall be construed as following the actual path of the geopolitical boundary referenced.

Any of the terms Bypass, Expressway, Highway, Hiway, Hwy, Route, Rte. and/or Thruway may be substituted one for the other where such substitution would more accurately reflect the feature being described.

The terms Penn Central Railroad and PCRR shall be construed to include the Penn Central Railroad Corporation, now or formerly, and its successors.

The terms Delaware and Hudson Railroad and D&H shall be construed to include the Delaware and Hudson Railroad Corporation, now or formerly, and its successors.

APPENDIX "A" - Census Blocks APPENDIX "B" - Metes and Bounds

Local Law tabled by the Chairman -9/12/22

On long roll call vote the following members voted in favor: Messrs. Bruschi, Burgdorf, Collins, Drake, Ethier, Grimm, Ms. Lockart, Messrs. Mauriello, Mayo, O'Brien, Perlee, Ricard, Smith, Tunny and Ms. Whalen – 15

Those opposed – Mr. Beston, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Cleary, Commisso, Ms. Cunningham, Messrs. Domalewicz, Efekoro, Feeney, Fein, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Kuhn, Mss. Lekakis, McLaughlin, McLean Lane, Messrs. Miller, Peter, Ms. Plotsky, Messrs. Reidy, Reinhardt, Simpson, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 24 Local Law defeated – 10/11/22