RESOLUTION NO. 221

REQUESTING THE NYS LEGISLATURE TO ENACT ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 9622/SENATE BILL NO. 7536 TO CONTINUE THE 6% HOTEL/MOTEL OCCUPANCY TAX IN ALBANY COUNTY

Introduced: 5/14/18 By Mr. A. Joyce:

WHEREAS, Reauthorization of the 6% hotel and motel room occupancy tax in Albany County will serve to continue the funding mechanism for the Albany convention center project and improvements to the Times Union Center, and

WHEREAS, Reauthorization of the hotel/motel occupancy tax at 6% must be enacted by the State Legislature, and

WHEREAS, Currently, bills entitled, "AN ACT to amend chapter 105 of the laws of 2009 amending chapter 693 of the laws of 1980 enabling the county of Albany to impose and collect taxes on occupancy of hotel or motel rooms in Albany county relating to revenues received from the collection of hotel or motel occupancy taxes, in relation to the effectiveness thereof" are before both houses of the New York State Legislature: in the Assembly, Bill A.9622, and in the Senate, Bill S.7536, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, By the Albany County Legislature, pursuant to Article IX of the New York State Constitution and Section 2 of the Municipal Home Rule Law, that the County Legislature hereby requests the enactment of legislation by the Legislature of the State of New York as contained in Assembly Bill A.9622 and Senate Bill S.7536, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the County Legislature is directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County Officials; Senators Neil Breslin and George Amedore; and Members of Assembly Patricia Fahy, John T. McDonald III, and Phillip G. Steck.

On roll call vote the following voted in favor: Messrs. Beston, Bullock, Burgdorf, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Crouse, Ms. Cunningham, Messrs. Dawson, Domalewicz, Drake, Ethier, Feeney, Fein, Grimm, Higgins, Hogan, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Mss. Lekakis, Lockart, Messrs. Mauriello, Mayo, Mss. McKnight, McLean Lane, Messrs. Mendick, Miller, O'Brien, Ms. Plotsky, Messrs. Reinhardt, Signoracci, Simpson, Smith, Touchette, Tunny, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 38

 $Those\ opposed:-\ 0$

Mr. Stevens abstained.

The resolution was adopted - 5/14/18