RESOLUTION NO. 249

AUTHORIZING AN AGREEMENT WITH SMG AND THE ALBANY COUNTY CONVENTION CENTER AUTHORITY REGARDING A SHARED EMPLOYEE PLAN

Introduced: 7/11/16

By Civic Center Committee

WHEREAS, SMG has a management agreement with the County of Albany for management and operation of the Times Union Center, and

WHEREAS, SMG also has a management agreement with the Albany Convention Authority for the management of the Albany Capital Center, and

WHEREAS, Efficiencies in cost and operation can be obtained by sharing staff between the two facilities, and

WHEREAS, The salaries of the staff will be allocated on a prorated basis to each facility resulting in both an overall savings and a savings to each facility,

WHEREAS, Any of the three parties may elect to terminate the agreement, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, By the Albany County Legislature that the County Executive is authorized to enter into an agreement with SMG and the Albany Convention Authority to share staff between the Times Union Center and the Albany Capital Center and allocate the costs on a prorate basis, and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the County Legislature is directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County Officials, SMG, and the Albany Convention Authority.

A motion was made and duly seconded to refer the resolution back to committee.

On roll call vote on the motion the following voted in favor: Messrs. Bullock, Crouse, Ms. Cunningham, Messrs. Dawson, Domalewicz, Drake, Ethier, Higgins, Ms. Lekakis, Messrs. Mendick and Reinhardt – 11.

Those opposed: Messrs. Beston, Burgdorf, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Feeney, Fein, Grimm, Hogan, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Ms. Lockart, Messrs. Mackey, Mauriello, Mayo, Mss. McKnight, McLean Lane, Messrs. Miller, O'Brien, Signoracci, Simpson, Smith, Touchette, Tunny, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 27.

Abstained: Mr. Stevens - 1.

Motion failed.

On roll call vote on the resolution the following voted in favor: Messrs. Beston, Burgdorf, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Feeney, Fein, Grimm, Hogan, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Ms. Lockart, Messrs. Mackey, Mauriello, Mayo, Mss. McKnight, McLean Lane, Messrs. Miller, O'Brien, Signoracci, Simpson, Smith, Touchette, Tunny, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 27.

Those opposed: Messrs. Bullock, Crouse, Ms. Cunningham, Messrs. Dawson, Domalewicz, Drake, Ethier, Higgins, Ms. Lekakis, Messrs. Mendick and Reinhardt – 11.

Abstained: Mr. Stevens – 1. Resolution was adopted. 7/11/16