LOCAL LAW NO. "F" FOR 2016

A LOCAL LAW OF THE COUNTY OF ALBANY, NEW YORK, AMENDING 206 THE ALBANY COUNTY CHARTER AND LOCAL LAW NO. 8 FOR 1993 AS SUBSEQUENTLY AMENDED RELATING TO THE NUMBER OF LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS

Introduced: 7/11/16 By Messrs. Crouse, Tunny, Hogan and Ms. Lockart:

PURSUANT TO SECTIONS 10 AND 33 OF THE MUNICIPAL HOME RULE LAW AND SECTION 2701 OF THE ALBANY COUNTY CHARTER:

Be it enacted by the County Legislature as follows:

Section 1. The Albany County Charter is hereby amended by amending Section 206 to read as follows:

Section 206. <u>Legislative</u> Districts

- (a) Effective through December 31, 2023, Ffor purposes of electing County Legislators, the County shall be divided into thirty-nine (39) districts One County Legislator shall be elected to the County Legislature of Albany from each of said districts. The thirty nine (districts) within the County of Albany are as set forth in Appendices A and B of the the existing Charter:
- (b) Effective January 1, 2024, the number of legislative districts in Albany County shall be decreased from thirty-nine (39) to thirty-three (33) and effective January 1, 2032 to twenty-nine (29).
- (c) Upon release of the 2020 federal census, the County Legislature shall redraw legislative boundaries to provide for thirty-three (33) legislative districts, effective for the 2023 general election, with the term of office to commence January 1, 2024, and amend the Administrative Code to define the redrawn legislative districts.
- (d) Upon release of the 2030 federal census, the County Legislature shall redraw legislative boundaries to provide for twenty-nine (29) legislative districts, effective for the 2031 general election, with term of office to commence January 1, 2032, and amend the Administrative Code to define the redrawn legislative districts.

Section 2. The effective date of this Local Law is January 1, 2017. This amendment, which defines the redrawn legislative districts and amends the Albany County Charter, shall be subject to a mandatory referendum in the manner provided by Sections 23 and 33 of the Municipal Home Rule Law and shall not become operative unless and until this Local Law is approved by the duly qualified voters of Albany County in the manner prescribed by law at the general election of November 8, 2016.

Referred to Law Committee. 7/11/16

Messrs. Higgins, Burgdorf, Drake, Grimm, Mauriello, Mendick and Stevens proposed the following amendment:

"Amend Local Law No. "F" for 2016 by deleting parts "b", "c" & "d" of Section 206 in their entirety:

(b) Effective January 1, 2024, the number of legislative districts in Albany County shall be decreased from thirty-nine (39) to thirty-three (33) and effective January 1, 2032 to twenty-nine (29).

(c) Upon release of the 2020 federal census, the County Legislature shall redraw legislative boundaries to provide for thirty-three (33) legislative districts, effective for the 2023 general election, with the term of office to commence January 1, 2024, and amend the Administrative Code to define the redrawn legislative districts.

(d) Upon release of the 2030 federal census, the County Legislature shall redraw legislative boundaries to provide for twenty-nine (29) legislative districts, effective for the 2031 general election, with term of office to commence January 1, 2032, and amend the Administrative Code to define the redrawn legislative districts.

Add the following underlined language as the new part "b" of Section 206:

(b) Effective January 1, 2024, the number of legislative districts in Albany County shall be decreased from thirty-nine (39) to twenty-five (25). Upon release of the 2020 federal census and thereafter, the County Legislature shall redraw legislative boundaries to provide for twenty-five (25) legislative districts, effective for the 2023 general election and thereafter, with the term of office to commence January 1, 2024, and amend the Administrative Code to define the redrawn legislative districts."

On roll call vote on the amendment the following voted in favor:

Messrs. Burgdorf, Dawson, Domalewicz, Drake, Grimm, Higgins, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Mauriello, Mayo, Mendick, O'Brien, Reinhardt and Stevens – 14.

Those opposed: Messrs. Beston, Bullock, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Crouse, Ethier, Feeney, Fein, Hogan, Mss. Lekakis, Lockart, Messrs. Mackey, Miller, Signoracci, Simpson, Smith, Touchette, Tunny, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 22. Amendment was defeated.

On roll call vote on the original Local Law the following voted in favor: Messrs. Crouse, Feeney, Hogan, Ms. Lockart and Mr. Tunny – 5.

Those opposed: Messrs. Beston, Bullock, Burgdorf, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Dawson, Domalewicz, Drake, Ethier, Fein, Grimm, Higgins, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Ms. Lekakis, Messrs. Mackey, Mauriello, Mayo, Mendick, Miller, O'Brien, Reinhardt, Signoracci, Simpson, Smith, Stevens, Touchette, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 31.

Local Law was defeated. 8/8/16