RESOLUTION NO. 261

AUTHORIZING AN AGREEMENT WITH ISLAND PEER REVIEW ORGANIZATION, INC. REGARDING AUDITING SERVICES PERTAINING TO MEDICAID FRAUD, WASTE AND ABUSE CONTROL ACTIVITIES

Introduced: 7/13/15

By Social Services Committee:

WHEREAS, This Honorable Body authorized an agreement with the NYS Department of Health and the New York State Medicaid Inspector General regarding Medicaid fraud, waste and abuse control activities, and

WHEREAS, The Commissioner of the Department of Social Services has recommended that the County renew the agreement with Island Peer Review Organization, Inc. from October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2016 in an amount not to exceed \$166,000 to continue auditing services pertaining to Medicaid fraud, waste and abuse control activities, and

WHEREAS, The agreement allows for the review of Medicaid payments made to providers enrolled in the Medicaid program who have submitted claims for eligible services to recipients for which the County has fiscal responsibility, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, By the Albany County Legislature that the County Executive is authorized to enter into an agreement with Island Peer Review Organization, Inc., 1979 Marcus Avenue, Lake Success, New York, from October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2016 in an amount not to exceed \$166,000 regarding auditing services pertaining to Medicaid fraud, waste and abuse control activities, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the County Attorney is authorized to approve said agreement as to form and content, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the County Legislature is directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County Officials.

On roll call vote the following voted in favor: Messrs. Beston, Bullock, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Ms. Connolly, Messrs. Corcoran, Cotrofeld, Dawson, Domalewicz, Ethier, Feeney, Higgins, Jacobson, Joyce, Mackey, Ms. Maffia-Tobler, Mr. Mayo, Mss. McKnight, McLean Lane, Messrs. Morse, O'Brien, Rahm, Reilly, Simpson and Ward – 27.

Those opposed: Mss. Benedict, Busch, Messrs. Carman, Clouse, Crouse, Hogan, Ms. Lockart, Messrs. Mendick, Nichols, Stevens and Tunny – 11.

Resolution was adopted. 7/13/15