## **RESOLUTION NO. 310**

## REQUIRING NOTIFICATION TO LAW ENFORCEMENT AND MUNICIPAL OFFICIALS OF ALBANY COUNTY LEGISLATIVE ENACTMENTS

Introduced: 8/13/12

By Messrs. Stevens, Ethier, Law Committee, Messrs. Clenahan and Ward:

WHEREAS, This Honorable Body enacts Local Laws which are effective within the borders of Albany County, and

WHEREAS, Some of these Local Laws are to be enforced by the law enforcement officials who serve within Albany County, and

WHEREAS, Currently there is no mechanism in place that notifies local law enforcement agencies or municipalities that new laws have been passed by this Honorable Body, effectively undermining the legislation, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Albany County Legislature is hereby directed to forward all Local Laws enacted by the Albany County Legislature to the Chief of Police for each municipality within the County of Albany, the Supervisor/Mayor for each municipality within the County of Albany and the Albany County Sheriff, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Albany County Legislature shall only forward the Local Law once it has been certified by the New York State Secretary of State, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk shall forward the Local Law to the above described municipal officials no later than 5 working days after being notified by the Secretary of State of said law's certification, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That this Resolution shall take effect immediately, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Legislature is hereby directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County Officials and the municipal officials mentioned above.

On roll call vote the following voted in favor: Ms. Benedict, Messrs. Beston, Bullock, Ms. Busch, Mr. Carman, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Clouse, Commisso, Ms. Connolly, Messrs. Corcoran, Cotrofeld, Crouse, Dawson, Domalewicz, Ethier, Higgins, Hogan, Joyce, Mss. Kinsch, Lockart, Mr. Mackey, Ms. Maffia-Tobler, Mr. Mayo, Ms. McKnight, Messrs. Mendick, Morse, Nichols, O'Brien, Rahm, Reilly, Simpson, Stevens, Tunny and Ward - 36.

Those opposed: - 0.

Resolution was adopted. 9/10/12