## **RESOLUTION NO. 100**

## REQUESTING THE NYS LEGISLATURE TO ENACT AN AMENDMENT TO THE TAX LAW TO AUTHORIZE ALBANY COUNTY TO CONTINUE THE 1% SALES AND USE TAXES

Introduced: 3/14/11

By Audit and Finance Committee:

WHEREAS, An extension of the 1% in the sales and compensating use taxes due to expire on November 30, 2011 in Albany County will serve to raise additional revenue to offset the costs of mandated programs and assist the towns and cities within Albany County to continue providing vital services without increasing property taxes, and

WHEREAS, The chief elected officials of three cities, nine towns and six villages in the County have written letters of support for continuation of the 1% sales tax extension, and

WHEREAS, The continuation of said 1% in the sales and compensating use taxes must be authorized by the State Legislature, and

WHEREAS, Currently, bills entitled, "AN ACT to amend the tax law, in relation to the imposition of sales and compensating use taxes by the county of Albany" are before both houses of the New York State Legislature; in the Assembly, Bill A.508; and in the Senate, Bill S.820, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, By the Albany County Legislature, pursuant to Article IX of the New York State Constitution and Section 2 of the Municipal Home Rule Law, that the County Legislature hereby requests the enactment of legislation by the Legislature of the State of New York as contained in Assembly Bill A.508 and Senate Bill S.820, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the County Legislature is directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate State and County Officials.

On roll call vote the following voted in favor: Messrs. Aylward, Beston, Bullock, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Clouse, Commisso, Ms. Connolly, Messrs. Cotrofeld, Dawson, Domalewicz, Ethier, Gordon, Higgins, Horstmyer, Infante, Joyce, Mss. Lockart, Maffia-Tobler, Mr. McCoy, Ms. McKnight, Messrs. Morse, Rahm, Reilly, Timmins, Tunny, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 29.

Those opposed: Ms. Benedict, Messrs. Carman, Hoblock, Mendick, Nichols, Scavo and Zeilman – 7.

Resolution was adopted. 3/14/11