## **RESOLUTION NO. 46**

## AUTHORIZING THE ALBANY COUNTY SUSTAINABLE ENERGY LOAN PROGRAM

Introduced: 2/8/10

By Messrs. Nichols, Gordon, Aylward, Beston, Bullock, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Ms. Connolly, Messrs. Cotrofeld, Dawson, Domalewicz, Ethier, Higgins, Horstmyer, Houghtaling, Infante, Joyce, Ms. Maffia-Tobler, Messrs. Mayo, McCoy, Ms. McKnight, Messrs. Morse, Rahm, Reilly, Scavo, Steck, Timmins, Ward and Ms. Willingham:

WHEREAS, By Chapter 497 of the Laws of 2009, the State of New York authorized an amendment of the General Municipal Law by creating Article 5-L to allow municipalities to create Sustainable Energy Loan Programs to promote the deployment of renewable energy systems and energy efficiency improvement measures at residential and commercial properties, and

WHEREAS, The establishment of a Sustainable Energy Loan Program in Albany County would serve to assist in achieving statewide energy efficiency and renewable energy goals, reducing greenhouse emissions and mitigating the effect of global climate change and advance a clean energy economy, and

WHEREAS, A Sustainable Energy Loan Program would also bolster the economy of Albany County by saving county residents monies which they would otherwise spend on energy costs and by creating jobs for Albany County residents, and

WHEREAS, An Albany County Sustainable Energy Loan Program may create an opportunity for the County and State to obtain American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 ("ARRA") funding to support the program, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Albany County Legislature hereby authorizes the Albany County Sustainable Energy Loan Program and requests that the Albany County Executive undertake all necessary steps to implement the Albany County Sustainable Energy Loan Program as authorized by Article 5-L of the General Municipal Law, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the County Legislature is directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County Officials.

Adopted by unanimous vote. 2/8/10