RESOLUTION NO. 121

CREATING A SPECIAL BUDGET REVIEW COMMITTEE

Introduced: 3/8/10 By Messrs. McCoy and Scavo:

WHEREAS, Albany County is facing one of the most fiscally challenging periods in history, and

WHEREAS, It is prudent for the Legislature to prepare for this financial predicament by early identification of cost savings and/or cost cutting measures and monitoring the revenues and appropriations of the County during these difficult times, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, By This Honorable Body that a Special Budget Review Committee is created to evaluate and make recommendations concerning all matters which the committee may deem appropriate relating to financial solvency and cost containment measures, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That said Special Budget Review Committee shall consist of seven members and the following named persons are hereby appointed to said Committee:

> Daniel P. McCoy, Chairman Frank J. Commisso Shawn M. Morse Sean E. Ward Christine M. Benedict Peter T. Clouse Norma Chapman

and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Committee shall review the 2010 budget for any potential areas of savings and will also collectively suggest cost saving initiatives to the Audit and Finance Committee, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the County Legislature is hereby directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County officials.

Ms. Benedict proposed the following amendment: "In the second RESOLVED clause DELETE Peter T. Clouse, and

ADD Richard Mendick"

On roll call vote on the amendment the following voted in favor: Ms. Benedict, Mr. Bullock, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clouse Dawson, Domalewicz, Ethier, Hoblock, Infante, Ms. Lockart, Messrs. Mayo, Mendick, Steck, Timmins, Tunny and Zeilman - 17.

Those opposed: Messrs. Aylward, Clenahan, Commisso, Ms. Connolly, Messrs. Cotrofeld, Gordon, Higgins, Horstmyer, Joyce, Ms. Maffia-Tobler, Mr. McCoy, Ms. McKnight, Messrs. Morse, Nichols, Rahm, Reilly, Scavo, Ward and Ms. Willingham - 19.

Amendment was defeated. Original Resolution was adopted by unanimous vote. 3/8/10