RESOLUTION NO. 155

AUTHORIZING A RENEWAL OF THE LEASE AGREEMENT WITH THE SHAKER HERITAGE SOCIETY

Introduced: 4/12/10

By Messrs. Nichols, Aylward, Beston, Bullock, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Ms. Connolly, Messrs. Cotrofeld, Domalewicz, Ethier, Gordon, Higgins, Horstmyer, Houghtaling, Infante, Joyce, Ms. Maffia-Tobler, Messrs. Mayo, McCoy, Ms. McKnight, Messrs. Morse, Rahm, Reilly, Scavo, Steck, Timmins, Ward, Ms. Willingham, Mr. Tunny, Mss. Benedict, Lockart, Messrs. Hoblock, Zeilman and Dawson:

WHEREAS, This Honorable Body previously authorized a lease agreement with the Shaker Heritage Society regarding the Shaker Meeting House on the grounds of the Ann Lee Home, and

WHEREAS, Said lease agreement expired and the Shaker Heritage Society seeks to renew the lease agreement for an additional fifteen years, and

WHEREAS, The Shaker Heritage Society desires to preserve, restore and/or utilize the premises known as the Shaker Meeting House, 1822 Brethren's Workshop, 1825 Ministry Workshop, 1856 Creamery, Shaker Barn, one-half of the 1920 Garage, pasture bordered by Albany-Shaker Road, Watervliet-Shaker Road, entry drive and the paved parking lot adjacent to the Brethren's Building, and the grounds adjacent to and connecting the above named buildings and pastureland, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, By the Albany County Legislature that the County Executive is authorized to renew the lease agreement with the Shaker Heritage Society for the period commencing May 1, 2010 and ending April 30, 2025, for the sum of one dollar annually, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the County Attorney is authorized to approve said lease agreement as to form and content, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the County Legislature is directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County Officials.

Resolution was amended by Ms. Benedict as follows:

"In the SECOND WHEREAS clause:

DELETE: fifteen

And

ADD: twenty

In the FIRST RESOLVED clause:

DELETE: 2025

And

ADD: 2030"

On roll call vote on the amendment the following voted in favor: Ms. Benedict, Messrs. Bullock, Carman, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clouse, Ethier, Higgins, Hoblock, Ms. Lockart, Messrs. Mendick, Nichols, Steck and Tunny - 13.

Those opposed: Messrs. Aylward, Beston, Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Ms. Connolly, Messrs. Cotrofeld, Dawson, Domalewicz, Gordon, Horstmyer, Houghtaling, Infante, Joyce, Mayo, McCoy, Ms. McKnight, Messrs. Morse, Rahm, Reilly, Scavo, Timmins, Ward and Ms. Willingham - 24.

Amendment was defeated.

On roll call vote on the original resolution the following voted in favor: Mr. Aylward, Ms. Benedict, Messrs. Beston, Bullock, Carman, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Clouse, Commisso, Ms. Connolly, Messrs. Cotrofeld, Dawson, Domalewicz, Ethier, Gordon, Higgins, Hoblock, Horstmyer, Houghtaling, Infante, Joyce, Ms. Lockart, Messrs. Mayo, McCoy, Ms. McKnight, Messrs. Mendick, Morse, Nichols, Rahm, Reilly, Scavo, Steck, Timmins, Tunny, Ward and Ms. Willingham - 37.

Those opposed: - 0.
Resolution was adopted. 4/12/10