RESOLUTION NO. 322

REQUESTING THE STATE LEGISLATURE TO EXEMPT SALES TAX ON THE PURCHASE AND INSTALLATION OF RESIDENTIAL WIND TURBINE GENERATING SYSTEMS AND OTHER CLEAN ENERGY EQUIPMENT AND APPLIANCES

Introduced: 9/11/06

By Messrs. Gordon, Aidala, Aylward, Beston, Clay, Collins, Commisso, Ms. Connolly, Messrs. Cunningham, Dawson, Domalewicz, Ethier, Feeney, Frederick, Houghtaling, Infante, Joyce, Ms. Maffia-Tobler, Messrs. Mayo, McCoy, Ms. McKnight, Messrs. Monjeau, Morse, Nichols, Reilly, Riddick, Shafer, Steck, Ward, Mss. Wiley, Willingham and Benedict:

WHEREAS, Since September last year, New York State homeowners have been exempted from paying State sales tax on the purchase and installation of residential solar energy systems equipment, and Albany County followed suit by approving a local law effective June 1st this year lifting the County sales tax, and

WHEREAS, It is the belief of the Albany County Legislature that the State and its municipalities should further encourage and promote the use of renewable energy sources and clean energy technology by the general public, and

WHEREAS, This can be accomplished in part by extending sales tax breaks to wind generation equipment, fuel cells, interface devices that support these systems such as inverters, converters, towers and cables, compact fluorescent lamps and direct current appliances, and

WHEREAS, Generation of energy through fossil fuels is exacting unbearable costs on the environment, the economy and the health of this state's residents, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Albany County Legislature requests the New York State Legislature to enact and the Governor to sign legislation exempting the State sales tax on the purchase and installation of residential wind power generation and other clean energy systems and equipment and giving counties the option of exempting local sales tax on these items, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Albany County Legislature is directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to Governor George Pataki, Senate Majority Leader Joseph Bruno, Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver, Senator Neil Breslin, Assemblymen Ronald Canestrari, John McEneny, Robert Reilly and Pat Casale and to the appropriate County Officials.

Adopted by unanimous vote. 9/11/06