## **RESOLUTION NO. 40**

## **REAPPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE AGRICULTURAL AND FARMLAND PROTECTION BOARD**

Introduced: 2/13/06 By Messrs. Houghtaling, Gordon and Ms. Connolly:

WHEREAS, By Resolution No. 180 for 1993, this Honorable Body established the Albany County Agricultural and Farmland Protection Board to advise the Legislature and work with the County Planning Board in relation to the proposed establishment, modification, continuation or termination of any agricultural district and to perform such other duties as outlined in Section 302 of the Agriculture and Markets Law, and

WHEREAS, The Board is comprised of eleven members, consisting of four active farmers, one representative of agribusiness, one representative of an organization dedicated to agricultural land preservation, a member of the Legislative Body, a County Cooperative Extension agent, the Chair of the County Soil and Water Conservation District's Board of Directors, the County Planning Director and the County Director of Real Property Tax Services, and

WHEREAS, Two vacancies exist on the board to represent active farmers, and the incumbents, who have been active and contributing members and who have served on the Board with distinction, have indicated their interest in continuing to serve, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, By the Albany County Legislature that the following named individuals be reappointed to the Agricultural and Farmland Protection Board:

Joseph Abbruzzese, Jr., Active Farmer Harold Hahn, Active Farmer <u>Term Expiration</u> December 31, 2009 December 31, 2009

and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the County Legislature is directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County Officials.

Adopted by unanimous vote. 2/13/06