# 2023 ALBANY COUNTY ADOPTED BUDGET

## **INTRODUCTION AND HIGHLIGHTS** MESSAGE FROM YOUR COUNTY EXECUTIVE



**County Executive** 

M. David Reilly

**Commissioner of Management & Budget** 



## 2023 BUDGET MESSAGE FROM DANIEL P. Mc COY

When I took office in 2012, I wanted to enhance and improve the services we provide to our residents while finding creative and thoughtful ways to build our financial reserves. We have been successful in accomplishing these goals all while maintaining one of the lowest effective tax rates in New York State. It has not always been easy, but we have remained disciplined and stayed the course. This budget continues to utilize best practices in governmental accounting and finances and firmly positions ourselves for prosperity in the future.

It is not a time for complacency. Inflation is at a 30 year high and an economic downturn is consistently being projected by leading economists. This budget looks to continue our investment in economic successes as well as leveraging the strong financial position we presently are experiencing. We know how bad things can get because unfortunately we experienced them in 2008 and 2009. When I first took office, the county was borrowing money to make payroll. Since then we have consistently implemented sound fiscal principles and built our reserves back to levels that provide us with confidence that we can endure the uncertainty that may lie ahead.

Three years ago, none of us could have predicted the personal and long-lasting global impact the pandemic could have caused. The economic impact from the pandemic will continue to be felt for years. This budget continues to balance the impacts from the aftermath of the pandemic with long term strategic planning that will provide opportunities for continued success in the future. In this budget, there is a concerted effort to stimulate economic development throughout Albany County with funding for the Sustainable Technology and Green Energy (STAGE) Act, the Advance Albany County Alliance and the Albany County Land Bank. Additionally, a prepayment of the county's amortized pension obligation will save taxpayers hundreds of thousands of dollars over the next three years in additional interest. Further, in this budget the tax rate will remain flat and, in effect, will provide a reduction in your taxes. These fiscally responsible decisions are being done without making cuts to services or to any members of our County workforce, which I remain extremely proud of.

I would like to thank the Legislature and the other elected officials of Albany County for their cooperation during the budget process. When we work together we are able to provide the highest level of services at one of the lowest tax rates in the state. I would also like to thank the citizens of Albany County. Last year I thanked all of you for your role in the County's recovery from the pandemic and this year I would like to reiterate my gratitude. The collective actions displayed during this time remind me how resilient and supportive our community is and how fortunate I am to be able to serve as your Executive.

## ALBANY COUNTY ELECTED OFFICIALS

#### Honorable Daniel P. McCoy

County Executive

Honorable Craig D. Apple County Sheriff

Honorable Bruce A. Hidley County Clerk

#### Honorable Susan A. Rizzo

County Comptroller

Honorable P. David Soares District Attorney

#### **County Coroners**

Honorable Timothy J. Cavanaugh Honorable John G. Keegan Honorable Paul L. Marra, III Honorable Antonio Sturges

#### **Legislative Leaders**

Honorable Andrew Joyce, Chairman Honorable Dennis A. Feeney, Majority Leader Honorable Frank A. Mauriello, Minority Leader

### ALBANY COUNTY LEGISLATORS

Honorable Carolyn McLaughlin District 1

**Honorable Merton D. Simpson** District 2

**Honorable Wanda F. Willingham** District 3

**Honorable Norma J. Chapman** District 4

Honorable Matthew T. Peter District 5

**Honorable Samuel I. Fein** District 6

**Honorable Beroro T. Efekoro** District 7

Honorable Lynne Lekakis District 8

Honorable Andrew C. Joyce District 9

**Honorable Gary W. Domalewicz** District 10

Honorable Frank J. Commisso District 11

Honorable William M. Clay District 12

Honorable Raymond F. Joyce District 13

Honorable Alison McLean Lane District 14

**Honorable Robert J. Beston** District 15

Honorable Sean E. Ward District 16

**Honorable Bill Ricard** District 17

Honorable Gilbert F. Ethier District 18

**Honorable Todd A. Drake** District 19

Honorable David B. Mayo District 20 **Honorable Jennifer A. Whalen** District 21

Honorable Peter B. Tunny District 22

**Honorable Paul J. Burgdorf** District 23

Honorable Nathan L. Bruschi District 24

Honorable Joseph E. O'Brien District 25

**Honorable Patrice Lockart** District 26

**Honorable Frank A. Mauriello** District 27

**Honorable Dennis A. Feeney** District 28

Honorable Mark E. Grimm District 29

Honorable Dustin M. Reidy District 30

Honorable Jeff S. Perlee District 31

Honorable Mickey Cleary District 32

**Honorable William Reinhardt** District 33

Honorable Joanne Cunningham District 34

**Honorable Jeffery D. Kuhn** District 35

Honorable Matthew Miller District 36

Honorable Zach Collins District 37

Honorable Victoria A. Plotsky District 38

**Honorable Christopher H. Smith** District 39

## ALBANY COUNTY DEPARTMENTS

AGING Deborah Riitano, *Commissioner* 

ALTERNATE PUBLIC DEFENDER Tina K. Sodhi, Esq., *Alternate Public Defender* 

**BOARD OF ELECTIONS** Kathleen Donovan, *Democratic Commissioner* Rachel L. Bledi, *Republican Commissioner* 

**CHILDREN, YOUTH AND FAMILIES** Moira Manning , *Commissioner* 

CIVIL SERVICE Michael A. Lalli, *Director* 

**CORNELL COOPERATIVE EXTENSION** Lisa Godlewski, *Executive Director* 

COUNTY CLERK Bruce A. Hidley, *County Clerk* 

**COUNTY COMPTROLLER** Susan A. Rizzo, *County Comptroller* 

**COUNTY CORONER** Timothy J. Cavanaugh John G. Keegan Paul L. Marra, III Antonio Sturges

**COUNTY EXECUTIVE** Daniel P. McCoy, *County Executive* 

COUNTY LEGISLATURE Andrew Joyce, *Chairman* 

**COUNTY SHERIFF** Craig D. Apple, *Sheriff* 

**CRIME VICTIMS AND SEXUAL VIOLENCE CTR.** Karen L. Ziegler, LCSWR, CASAC, *Director* 

**DISTRICT ATTORNEY** P. David Soares, Esq., *District Attorney*  ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, CONSERVATION AND PLANNING Kevin O'Connor, *Director* 

**GENERAL SERVICES** David Latina, *Commissioner* 

HEALTH Elizabeth F. Whalen, M.D., M.P.H., Commissioner

HUMAN RESOURCES Jennifer Clement, Commissioner

LAW Eugenia K. Condon, Esq., *County Attorney* 

**MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET** M. David Reilly, *Commissioner* 

MENTAL HEALTH Stephen J. Giordano Ph.D., *Director* 

**PROBATION** William Connors, *Director* 

**PUBLIC DEFENDER** Stephen W. Herrick, Esq., *Public Defender* 

**PUBLIC WORKS** Lisa Ramundo, P.E., *Commissioner* 

**RECREATION** Justin Atlas, *Commissioner* 

**SEWER DISTRICT** Angelo Gaudio, P.E., *Executive Director* 

SHAKER PLACE REHABILITATION AND NURSING CENTER Larry I. Slatky, *Executive Director* 

**SOCIAL SERVICES** Michele McClave, *Commissioner* 

**VETERANS SERVICE BUREAU** Kenneth Secor, SGM USA, *Director*