## **RESOLUTION NO. 1**

## APPOINTING DARRELL DUNCAN COUNTY LEGISLATOR TO REPRESENT THE 38TH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

Introduced: 1/9/17 By Mr. Ward:

WHEREAS, There exists a vacancy on the Albany County Legislature from the 38th Legislative District by reason of L. Michael Mackey having been elected to the New York State Supreme Court and resigned his position as an Albany County Legislator, and

WHEREAS, Section 205 of the Albany County Charter provides that the vacancy shall be filled by appointment by a majority of the remaining members of the Legislature, now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That Darrell Duncan, residing at 282 New Salem Road, Voorheesville, NY 12186, is hereby appointed County Legislator from the 38th Legislative District for a term commencing immediately and ending December 31, 2017, and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Legislature is hereby directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County officials.

Mr. Mauriello proposed the following amendment:

In the TITLE DELETE: Darrell Duncan

And ADD: Timothy Stanton

In the FIRST RESOLVED clause DELETE: Darrell Duncan, residing at 282 New Salem Road, Voorheesville, NY 12186

And ADD: Timothy Stanton, 210 Onesquethaw Creek Road, Feura Bush, New York 12067

On roll call vote on the amendment the following voted in favor:

Messrs: Burgdorf, Drake, Grimm, Hogan, Ms. Lockart, Messrs. Mauriello, Stevens, and Tunny – 8.

Those opposed: Mr. Beston, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Ms. Cunningham, Messrs. Domalewicz, Ethier, Feeney, Fein, Higgins, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Ms. Lekakis, Mr. Mayo, Ms. McKnight, Messrs. Miller, O'Brien, Reinhardt, Signoracci, Simpson, Smith, Touchette, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 25

The amendment was defeated.

On roll call vote on the original Resolution the following voted in favor: Messrs. Beston, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Messrs. Domalewicz, Drake, Ethier, Feeney, Fein, Grimm, Higgins, Hogan, A. Joyce, R.

Joyce, Mss. Lekakis, Lockart, Mr. Mayo, Ms. McKnight, Messrs Miller, O'Brien, Reinhardt, Signoracci, Simpson, Smith, Stevens, Touchette, Tunny, Ward and Ms. Willingham - 30

 $Those\ opposed-Mr.\ Burgdorf,\ Ms.\ Cunningham,\ Mr.\ Mauriello-3$  Original Resolution was adopted. 1/9/17