## **RESOLUTION NO. 51**

## AUTHORIZING THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH TO CONSIDER AN OUT-OF-COUNTY APPLICANT FOR THE POSITION OF PHYSICIAN SPECIALIST

Introduced: 2/13/17 By Personnel Committee:

WHEREAS, The Commissioner of the Department of Health has diligently sought out qualified applicants for the position of Physician Specialist with specific medical training in public health, who is board-certified or eligible for certification in public health and general preventive medicine, and

WHEREAS, The Commissioner has indicated she has not been able to locate a qualified applicant for the position who resides in Albany County and is willing to accept the position, but has identified qualified candidates who reside outside the County, and

WHEREAS, The Commissioner is requesting a waiver of the County's residency requirement regarding the aforementioned position, and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 245-C for 1995 requires the approval of this Honorable Body for the consideration and hiring of out-of-county applicants in instances where there are not sufficient qualified Albany County residents who have applied for specific positions, and

WHEREAS, The Personnel Committee of the Albany County Legislature is satisfied there is a shortage of sufficiently qualified Albany County residents to fill the Physician Specialist position and has recommended that approval in accordance with the requirements of Resolution No. 245-C for 1995 be given to fill the position with an outof-county applicant if necessary, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, By the Albany County Legislature that the consideration of an outof-county applicant to fill the Physician Specialist position at the Department of Health is approved in accordance with the requirements of Resolution No. 245-C for 1995, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the aforementioned approval to consider out-of-county applicants shall expire December 31, 2017, and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the County Legislature is directed to forward certified copies of this resolution to the appropriate County Officials.

On roll call vote the following voted in favor: Messrs. Bullock, Burgdorf, Ms. Chapman, Messrs. Clay, Clenahan, Commisso, Crouse, Ms. Cunningham, Messrs. Dawson, Domalewicz, Drake, Duncan, Ethier, Feeney, Fein, Grimm, Hogan, A. Joyce, R. Joyce, Mss. Lekakis, Lockart, Mr. Mayo, Mss. McKnight, McLean Lane, Messrs. Mendick, Miller, O'Brien, Simpson, Smith, Stevens, Touchette, Tunny, Ward and Ms. Willingham – 34.

Those opposed: Mr. Higgins - 1 Resolution was adopted 2/13/17